top of page

Social Anxiety & Traveling



I've been suffering from Social Anxiety for a long time. And yes, it sounds like traveling is not a good idea. But it was exactly what I needed to do to get out of it.


Here is how Social Anxiety affects me


⤅ I'm afraid to start conversations


⤅ I worry about how interesting my conversations are

⤅ I worry about the word choice I use when interacting and try and think ahead of the conversation to ensure the other person can reply to my previous sentence


⤅ In groups, I tend to observe and listen rather than participate in the conversation


⤅ I imagine that others are judging me as crazy, stupid, boring, unlikeable when in a group setting

⤅ It is very difficult for me to hold eye contact when speaking to someone


⤅ I feel like I have to overachieve and be the best at everything and know everything to be considered intelligent


☀️Often times I still feel like that, but traveling really pushes me out of my comfort zone. I have to speak to people. I don't have a choice. And it never turns out as bad as you think it will!


☀️Traveling is (at least for me) the best liquor to fear. Any kind of fear. Especially solo traveling, I'm on my own and I have to face everything that is coming my way.


☀️So, what I want to tell you is step out of your comfort zone and see that your fear is not real 💛

2 views0 comments
bottom of page